Sancar Sapaev, violin
Yana Zelenogorska, violin
Stefania Yankova, viola
Atanas Krastev, violoncello
Veneta Neynska, piano

Short description:

In the 2017/2018 season, a new artistic partnership was launched at the Motif concerts, united by Johannes Brahms's chamber masterpiece, his Piano Quintet. The musicians were definitive in their intention for this project to continue with another classical music milestone next season - the Piano Quintet by the Czech magician Antonin Dvorak.

The Artists:

The concertmaster Sancar Sapaev is well-known and much loved in Germany, the Netherlands, Turkey, Austria, Switzerland, Japan, United Arab Emirates, Spain, Greece, Serbia, Bulgaria. He has studied at the Trakya University National Conservatory in Turkey, and afterwards in the Prof. Pantcho Vladiguerov National Academy in Sofia. He is a laureate of numerous prestigious international competitions and is currently continuing with his education in Mannheim, Germany.
The sensitive violinist Yana Zelenogorska has perfected her skills during a number of Masterclasses with Irina Bochkova, Dora Shwarzberg, Anton Martinov, Are Bogdanyan, Gérard Poulet, Marian Kraev, Suzanne Stanzeleit, Kevork Mardirossyan, Mintcho Mintchev, Micho Dimitrov. She has been awarded by many national and international competitions and has been a soloist of the Sofia and Pleven Philharmonies, the Academic State Orchestra, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Sofia Sinfonietta.
The leader of the viola group in the Bulgarian National Radio's Symphony Orchestra - Stefania Yankova - has started with the violin at the age of six at the Lyubomir Pipkov National Music School. Stefania continued her musical education in the viola studio of Prof. Javed Jaffer in the music department at the Bilkent University in Ankara, Turkey. Afterwards, she has graduated from the Prof. Pantcho Vladiguerov Music Academy and has specialised with Prof. Thomas Selditz in the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg, Germany, as well as the University for Music and Applied Arts in Vienna, Austria. She has performed with artists of international standing and is a laureate of numerous international competitions.
Cellist Atanas Krastev has been admired by the audience for his “beautiful, sensitive, sound, full of timbre” (Culture, Sofia). In 2014, he has graduated from Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia in Madrid, Spain where he was working with Prof. Nataliya Shahovskaya. Atanas has participated in numerous masterclasses with some of today’s foremost artists. The late Prof. Janos Starker said of Atanas that he possesses all the necessary talent to become a first-class artist. He has appeared, as a soloist with orchestra and in recital, across Bulgaria’s most prominent stages, in multiple European countries, as well as in Brazil. Atanas has collaborated with conductors Vassil Kazandjiev, Emil Tabakov, Plamen Djuroff, Carlos Moreno, Oliver Gillmore, and Jacques Mercier, among others.
The richness of keyboard nuances born under Veneta Neynska's fingers and her infinite love for music, turn each one of her performance in a celebration of mastery and finesse. She has graduated from the National School of Music in the class of Lyubov Shisheva. Afterwards, she has travelled to the US and received a Bachelor's Degree in the studio of world-renowned pianist John Perry at USC Thorton School of Music. A full scholarship and the opportunity to study with Joan Havill took her to London and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama where she received her Master's Degree. Meanwhile, Veneta participated in the Masterclasses by Imogen Cooper, Alexei Nasedkin, Jerome Lowenthal, and Dominique Merlet. Today, she is also the Artistic Director of Modo Bulgaria.


Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904)
Rondo for Cello and Piano, op. 11
Terzetto for two violins and viola, op. 74
I. Introduzione: Allegro ma non troppo
II. Larghetto
III. Scherzo: Vivace — Trio: Poco meno mosso
IV. Tema con Variazioni
Piano Quintet No. 2 in A Major, op. 81
I. Allegro, ma non tanto
II. Dumka: Andante con moto
III. Scherzo (Furiant): molto vivace
IV. Finale: Allegro


On the spot in Boris Christoff House 43, Tsar Samuil Street