The Performers:

Sancar Sapaev, violin
Yana Zelenogorska, violin
Stefania Yankova, viola
Atanas Krastev, violoncello
Veneta Neynska, piano

The Concert:

200 years after Clara Wieck's birth, we remember her as one of the most influential female figures in the almost entirely male world of classical music. Robert Schuman's inspiring love for young Clara makes him to go through a tough legal proceedings with her father to reveive her hand, but his perseverance pays off through her unconditional dedication and full-fledged family life with eight children and endless fulfilled creative opportunities. The concert program includes the true masterpieces of the Schuman family’s chamber output, namely the Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 17 by Clara and the famous Piano Quintet in E Flat Major, Op. 44 by Robert. In addition, the family’s romantic history will be recreated through Three Romances for Violin and Piano, op. 22, written by the lady, author of the controversial statement that "Women were not born to compose."

The Artists:

The concertmaster Sancar Sapaev is well-known and much loved in Germany, the Netherlands, Turkey, Austria, Switzerland, Japan, United Arab Emirates, Spain, Greece, Serbia, Bulgaria. He has studied at the Trakya University National Conservatory in Turkey, and afterwards in the Prof. Pantcho Vladiguerov National Academy in Sofia. He is a laureate of numerous prestigious international competitions and is currently continuing with his education in Mannheim, Germany.

The sensitive violinist Yana Zelenogorska has perfected her skills during a number of Masterclasses with Irina Bochkova, Dora Shwarzberg, Anton Martinov, Are Bogdanyan, Gérard Poulet, Marian Kraev, Suzanne Stanzeleit, Kevork Mardirossyan, Mintcho Mintchev, Micho Dimitrov. She has been awarded by many national and international competitions and has been a soloist of the Sofia and Pleven Philharmonies, the Academic State Orchestra, the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Sofia Sinfonietta.

The leader of the viola group in the Bulgarian National Radio's Symphony Orchestra - Stefania Yankova - has started with the violin at the age of six at the Lyubomir Pipkov National Music School. Stefania continued her musical education in the viola studio of Prof. Javed Jaffer in the music department at the Bilkent University in Ankara, Turkey. Afterwards, she has graduated from the Prof. Pantcho Vladiguerov Music Academy and has specialised with Prof. Thomas Selditz in the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg, Germany, as well as the University for Music and Applied Arts in Vienna, Austria. She has performed with artists of international standing and is a laureate of numerous international competitions.
Cellist Atanas Krastev has been admired by the audience for his “beautiful, sensitive, sound, full of timbre” (Culture, Sofia). In 2014, he has graduated from Escuela Superior de Musica Reina Sofia in Madrid, Spain where he was working with Prof. Nataliya Shahovskaya. Atanas has participated in numerous masterclasses with some of today’s foremost artists. The late Prof. Janos Starker said of Atanas that he possesses all the necessary talent to become a first-class artist. He has appeared, as a soloist with orchestra and in recital, across Bulgaria’s most prominent stages, in multiple European countries, as well as in Brazil. Atanas has collaborated with conductors Vassil Kazandjiev, Emil Tabakov, Plamen Djuroff, Carlos Moreno, Oliver Gillmore, and Jacques Mercier, among others.

The richness of keyboard nuances born under Veneta Neynska's fingers and her infinite love for music, turn each one of her performance in a celebration of mastery and finesse. She has graduated from the National School of Music in the class of Lyubov Shisheva. Afterwards, she has travelled to the US and received a Bachelor's Degree in the studio of world-renowned pianist John Perry at USC Thorton School of Music. A full scholarship and the opportunity to study with Joan Havill took her to London and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama where she received her Master's Degree. Meanwhile, Veneta participated in the Masterclasses by Imogen Cooper, Alexei Nasedkin, Jerome Lowenthal, and Dominique Merlet. Today, she is also the Artistic Director of Modo Bulgaria.


Clara Schumann (b. Wieck) (1819-1896)

Three Romances for Violin and Piano, op. 22

I. Andante molto
II. Allegretto
III. Leidenschaftlich schnell

Piano Trio in G minor, Op. 17

I. Allegro moderato
II. Scherzo, Trio
III. Andante
IV. Allegretto


Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Piano Quintet in E Flat Major, Op. 44

I. Allegro brillante
II. In Modo d'una Marcia. Un poco largamente
III. Scherzo. Molto vivace - Trio 1 & 2
IV. Allegro, ma non troppo


Via Eventim online here
or at the door on 5, Oborishte Street / Gallery for Contemporary Art