The Performers:

Oliver Wass, harp (UK)
Magdalena Filipczak, violin (Poland)
Greta Mutlu, violin (Bulgaria)
Luba Tunnicliffe, viola (UK) 
Leander Kippenberg, violoncello (Germany) 
Henry Roberts, flute (UK)
Max Mausen, clarinet  (Luxembourg)

The Concert:

Traditionally regarded as a "female" instrument, the harp in the hands of the British star Oliver Wass turns into a stunningly virtuoso whirlwind through which the young musician is able to recreate the finest nuances and emotions in music from any historical period. Oliver is a true phenomenon on the concert scene. He is the first harpist to win the Guildhall Gold Medal - an award given to musicians such as Jacqueline du Pré, Bryn Terfel and Tasmin Little. Already captivating audiences around the world, the talented musician will perform original harp works and transcriptions of some of the most virtuosic and beautiful pieces in the classical repertoire. The select Motif concerts’ audience will be introduced to Caplet's fairytale world, will have the opportunity to hear Tarrega's memories of Alhambra and enjoy Ravel's Jeux d'eau. Together in a septet with well-established instrumentalists from London’s concert scene, Oliver will start the concert with excerpts from Orchestral Suite No. 2 by J.S. Bach. In his debut for the Bulgarian audience, the harpist will be accompanied by the beloved Bulgarian violinist Greta Mutlu, the captivating Magdalena Filipczak, British violist Luba Tunicliffe, as well as cellist Leander Kippenberg, flutist Henry Roberts and clarinetist Max Mausen.

The Artists:

Oliver Wass holds a First Class Masters Degree from the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, where he studied with Imogen Barford. He graduated from the University of York with a First Class Honours degree in Chemistry.

He recently won the Suoni d’Arpa International Competition in Italy, the Jury Prize at the International Harp Competition in Szeged, and Second Prize at the Bromsgrove International Competition. In May 2016 he became the first harpist ever to win the Guildhall Gold Medal – the Guildhall’s most prestigious prize. Previous winners of the competition include Jacqueline du Pré, Bryn Terfel and Tasmin Little.

He has performed every major harp concerto, including Alwyn’s Lyra Angelica with the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Mozart Flute and Harp Concerto with The Mozartists at the Wigmore Hall, and he has directed the Handel Harp Concerto in the Barbican Hall. During the last season, he gave recitals in Rome, Paris, Budapest, Utrecht and London.

He has given recitals at the Purcell Room and Wigmore Hall, where he was praised by Seen and Heard International for his “tremendous dynamism” and "remarkable range of timbres and warmth of tone”. He is a Musicians’ Company Yeoman, and is very grateful for support from the Hattori Foundation.

Oliver’s Pelléas Ensemble was playing with “verve and polish” (The Times), when they recently won the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Henderson Chamber Ensemble Award, and the Elias Fawcett Award for Outstanding Chamber Ensemble at the Royal Overseas League competition. In 2016 they won both the Grand Prize and the Audience Prize in the St Martin-in-the-Fields Chamber Music Competition, and won a place on the prestigious Tillett Trust Young Artists’ Programme.

Oliver studied with Charlotte Seale at the Junior Department of the Guildhall, where he became the only harpist to have been a prize-winner in the prestigious Lutine Competition. He was additionally Principal Harp in the National Youth Orchestra. He spent his teenage years making fireworks in his parents’ basement, which is – remarkably – still surviving.


J. S. Bach (1685 – 1750) 
Orchestral Suite No.2 in B minor, BWV 1067
   - Rondeau
   - Polonaise
   - Menuet
   - Badinerie

Manuel de Falla (1876 - 1946)
Spanish Dance No. 1 from the opera La Vida Breve
Francisco Tárrega (1852 – 1909 )
Recuerdos de la Alhambra
Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937 )
André Caplet (1878 – 1925)
Conte Fantastique

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)
Sonata for Cello
I. Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto
II. Sérénade: Modérément animé
III. Final: Animé, léger et nerveux

Claude Debussy (1862 – 1918)
Arabesque No. 1
Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937)
Jeux d'eau
Maurice Ravel (1875 – 1937)
Introduction and Allegro